Chennai to Host IPL 2024 Final on May 26

Chennai’s MA Chidambaram Stadium, also known as Chepauk, is set to witness the excitement of an IPL final after a hiatus of 12 years. The prestigious venue, which serves as the home ground for the defending champions Chennai Super Kings, will host the IPL 2024 title clash on May 26. This marks a significant return for Chepauk, having previously hosted IPL finals in 2011 and 2012.

Ahmedabad to Host Qualifiers

The city of Ahmedabad has been designated as the venue for the first qualifier on May 21 and the eliminator on May 22. Additionally, Chennai will host the second qualifier on May 24, adding to the thrill of the IPL playoffs.

Details of Venue Selection

The decision to allocate matches to these iconic venues reflects the IPL’s commitment to spreading the excitement of the tournament across different cities in India. Chepauk’s rich history in hosting high-stakes cricket matches makes it a fitting choice for the IPL final, while Ahmedabad’s state-of-the-art facilities provide an ideal setting for crucial playoff encounters.

IPL 2024 Schedule and Format

The IPL 2024 schedule comprises 52 matches, including the playoffs, and is set to commence on April 8. Defending champions Chennai Super Kings will kick off the second phase of the tournament by hosting Kolkata Knight Riders in Chennai. Notably, all playoff matches will be held in the evening, consistent with the IPL’s tradition.

Group Division and Match Format

Similar to the previous edition, the ten participating teams have been divided into two groups of five each. Each team will face the other four teams in their group twice and four teams from the other group once. Additionally, they will play the remaining team from the other group twice, determined through a draw.

Groupings for IPL 2024

Group A features defending champions Chennai Super Kings, 2022 IPL champions Gujarat Titans, Royal Challengers Bengaluru, Sunrisers Hyderabad, and Punjab Kings. On the other hand, Group B comprises five-time IPL champions Mumbai Indians, Kolkata Knight Riders, Rajasthan Royals, Delhi Capitals, and Lucknow Super Giants.

Double-Header Days and Opening Weekend

The league phase of IPL 2024 will include 11 double-header days, adding to the excitement for fans. Two double-header days were scheduled during the opening weekend, setting the tone for an action-packed season.

Partial Schedule Release and Election Commission’s Role

Initially, the IPL released a partial schedule consisting of 21 matches from March 22 to April 7. However, the complete schedule was delayed as the IPL awaited the announcement of dates for India’s general elections by the Election Commission of India. The general elections are scheduled to take place in seven phases from April 19 to June 1.

Additional Venues and Travel Schedule

Apart from the primary home grounds of the ten IPL teams, matches will also be hosted in Visakhapatnam, Dharamsala, and Guwahati. These cities will serve as the second home grounds for Delhi Capitals, Punjab Kings, and Rajasthan Royals, respectively. Guwahati will host the final league game of the season on May 19 between Rajasthan Royals and Kolkata Knight Riders.

Read more: Marketing NewsAdvertising News, PR and Finance NewsDigital News.


As an editor at Atom News, Ira Chatterjee combines her passion for storytelling with a commitment to journalistic integrity. Ira Chatterjee editorial expertise lies in technology and lifestyle, ensuring that our readers stay informed about the latest trends and innovations.