As the IPL 2024 season progresses, Mumbai Indians’ pace spearhead Jasprit Bumrah has reclaimed the coveted Purple Cap after his impressive performance against the Delhi Capitals on Saturday. Let’s delve into the latest updates on the Purple Cap race and review past winners of this prestigious award.

Bumrah Regains Purple Cap

Following his spell against the Delhi Capitals, where he dismissed the in-form Rishabh Pant, Jasprit Bumrah has once again secured the Purple Cap. Bumrah’s consistency and skill with the ball have propelled him to the top of the wicket-takers’ list in IPL 2024.

Top Performers Remain Unchanged

Despite recent matches, there have been no alterations to the top-five wicket-takers in the IPL 2024 season after the KKR-DC game. Mustafizur Rahman and Matheesha Pathirana have both climbed up the leaderboard, securing the second and fourth positions respectively, following Chennai Super Kings’ victory over Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Natarajan Enters Top Five

T Natarajan from Sunrisers Hyderabad has entered the top five wicket-takers’ list after his performance against the Chennai Super Kings, where he claimed a crucial wicket. His inclusion highlights the depth of talent in the IPL bowling lineup.

Harshal Patel Moves to Third

Punjab Kings’ seamer Harshal Patel has ascended to the third position on the Purple Cap leaderboard after his commendable performance against the Kolkata Knight Riders at the Eden Gardens. Patel’s consistent contributions with the ball have earned him a prominent spot in the race for the Purple Cap.

Significance of the Purple Cap

The Purple Cap holds significant importance in the IPL, symbolizing the leading wicket-taker of the season. Players vying for this accolade not only contribute to their team’s success but also enhance their individual value and prospects for future tournaments.

Reflection on Past Winners

Recalling the achievements of past Purple Cap winners sheds light on the caliber of talent showcased in previous IPL seasons. Mohammed Shami, Yuzvendra Chahal, Harshal Patel, Kagiso Rabada, Imran Tahir, Andrew Tye, and Bhuvneshwar Kumar are among the notable names who have clinched the Purple Cap in previous editions of the IPL.

Past Purple Cap Winners

  • IPL 2023: Mohammed Shami (Gujarat Titans)
  • IPL 2022: Yuzvendra Chahal (Rajasthan Royals)
  • IPL 2021: Harshal Patel (Royal Challengers Bangalore)
  • IPL 2020: Kagiso Rabada (Delhi Capitals)
  • IPL 2019: Imran Tahir (Chennai Super Kings)
  • IPL 2018: Andrew Tye (Punjab Kings)
  • IPL 2017: Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Sunrisers Hyderabad)
  • IPL 2016: Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Sunrisers Hyderabad)

Each winner’s remarkable performance reflects their skill, consistency, and contribution to their respective teams’ success in the IPL.

The Purple Cap remains a coveted accolade, motivating bowlers to strive for excellence and leave a lasting impact on the tournament. As the IPL 2024 season progresses, the battle for the Purple Cap intensifies, promising thrilling contests and memorable performances on the cricketing stage.

Read more: Marketing NewsAdvertising News, PR and Finance NewsDigital News



Santosh Kumar, an experienced editor at Atom News, is passionate about health and lifestyle reporting. Santosh's commitment to promoting well-being and highlighting lifestyle trends adds a valuable dimension to our coverage, ensuring our readers lead informed and healthy lives.