Kolkata Knight Riders Secure Third IPL Title with Victory Over Sunrisers Hyderabad

The Indian Premier League (IPL) of 2024 came to an exciting conclusion with the victory of Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), who won their third IPL championship. In the final game played at Chennai’s MA Chidambaram Stadium, KKR, headed by skipper Shreyas Iyer, defeated Pat Cummins-led Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) to win the championship.

KKR’s Triumph and SRH’s Disappointment

KKR proved their mettle in an exciting match, defeating SRH, who had been strong competitors the entire season. Even though Travis Head and Abhishek Sharma, the openers for the Sunrisers, had been on fire early in the season, they struggled in the championship game, scoring just 113 runs in 18.3 overs, with Cummins topping the score with 24.

Heroic Performances Lead KKR to Victory

In response, KKR’s Venkatesh Iyer (52*) and Rahmanullah Gurbaz (39) delivered stellar performances, guiding their team to victory and securing their first IPL title in 10 years. This triumph marked a momentous achievement for KKR, who last clinched the title in 2014.

Individual and Team Awards

Following the intense finale, several individual and team awards were presented during the post-match presentation ceremony. KKR proudly lifted the IPL winners’ trophy, while SRH received recognition as the runners-up, along with medals and a cheque.

Recognition for Outstanding Performances

Virat Kohli of Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) claimed the prestigious Orange Cap for scoring the most runs in the tournament (741 runs), while Harshal Patel of Punjab Kings (PBKS) secured the Purple Cap for taking the highest number of wickets (24 wickets). Additionally, Nitish Kumar Reddy was honored as the Emerging Player of the Season for his remarkable contributions.

Awards Highlights from IPL 2024

Here’s a comprehensive list of the awards and their respective winners from IPL 2024:

  • Winners: Kolkata Knight Riders (Prize: Rs 20 crore)
  • Runners-up: Sunrisers Hyderabad (Prize: Rs 12.5 crore)
  • Emerging Player of the Season: Nitish Kumar Reddy (Prize: Rs 10 lakh)
  • Orange Cap: Virat Kohli (Prize: Rs 10 lakh)
  • Purple Cap: Harshal Patel (Prize: Rs 10 lakh)
  • Super Striker of the Season: Jake Fraser-McGurk (Prize: Rs 10 lakh)
  • Ultimate Fantasy Player: Sunil Narine (Prize: Rs 10 lakh)
  • Most Valuable Player: Sunil Narine (Prize: Rs 10 lakh)
  • Most Sixes of the Season: Abhishek Sharma (Prize: Rs 10 lakh)
  • Most Fours of the Season: Travis Head (Prize: Rs 10 lakh)
  • Catch of the Season: Ramandeep Singh (Prize: Rs 10 lakh)
  • Best Pitch and Ground of the Season: Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad (Prize: Rs 50 lakh)
  • Fairplay Award: Sunrisers Hyderabad (Prize: Rs 10 lakh)

Match Awards

  • Player of the Match: Mitchell Starc (Prize: Rs 5 lakh)
  • Ultimate Fantasy Player of the Match: Mitchell Starc (Prize: Rs 1 lakh)
  • Electric Striker of the Match: Venkatesh Iyer (Prize: Rs 1 lakh)
  • Green Dot Balls of the Match: Harshit Rana (Prize: Rs 1 lakh)
  • Most Fours of the Match: Rahmanullah Gurbaz (Prize: Rs 1 lakh)
  • Most Sixes of the Match: Venkatesh Iyer (Prize: Rs 1 lakh)

Cricket talent was on full show in the IPL 2024, with KKR emerging as the worthy winners. The cricketing community celebrated the fantastic performances and incredible accomplishments of both players and teams as the tournament came to an end, paving the way for an exciting season to come.

Read more: Marketing NewsAdvertising News, PR and Finance NewsDigital News



Aanya Kapoor, a seasoned editor at Atom News, brings a wealth of experience in journalism and a keen eye for compelling stories. With a background in investigative reporting, Aanya Kapoor is dedicated to delivering news that resonates with our diverse readership.