As the Lok Sabha Election 2024 progresses into its fifth phase, Maharashtra gears up for a crucial electoral showdown across 13 constituencies, including major cities like Mumbai, Thane, Kalyan, and Palghar. The Election Commission of India (ECI) has mandated the enforcement of “dry days” in these cities, beginning from 5 p.m. on Saturday, May 18, until 5 p.m. on May 20, aligning with the voting schedule.

Understanding Dry Days:

A “dry day” signifies a period during which the sale of alcohol is prohibited in adherence to state regulations. This measure aims to maintain the integrity of the electoral process by ensuring a fair and impartial voting environment.

Maharashtra Lok Sabha Polls Phase 5:

The fifth phase of the Lok Sabha elections in Maharashtra encompasses 13 key constituencies, each playing a significant role in shaping the state’s political landscape. These constituencies include Mumbai North, Mumbai North-West, Mumbai North-East, Mumbai North-Central, Mumbai South-Central, Mumbai South, Thane, Kalyan, Palghar, Dhule, Dindori, Nashik, and Bhiwandi.

Key Candidates and Electoral Dynamics:

In this phase, prominent candidates like Union Minister Piyush Goyal vie for electoral victory, with Goyal contesting for the first time from the Mumbai North constituency. His opponent, actor-politician Bhushan Patil, adds further intrigue to this electoral battle, highlighting the diverse range of candidates and the significance of their constituencies.

During the fourth phase of Lok Sabha elections, Maharashtra witnessed a notable voter turnout of 52.63%, underscoring the electorate’s active participation in the democratic process. Notably, Nandurbar recorded the highest turnout at approximately 60.60%, reflecting the region’s strong electoral engagement.

Phase 5 Overview:

Beyond Maharashtra, Phase 5 of the Lok Sabha elections spans across 36 other constituencies across various states and union territories, including Uttar Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir, Ladakh, Odisha, West Bengal, Bihar, and Jharkhand. A total of 49 constituencies will witness polling, with 695 candidates competing for electoral victory.

The voting process will commence at 7 a.m. and conclude at 6 p.m., facilitating widespread participation among voters. The average number of contesting candidates per parliamentary constituency in the fifth phase is estimated to be 18, reflecting the diverse political landscape and the multitude of choices available to voters.

As the electoral process unfolds, these developments underscore the vibrancy of Indian democracy and the active engagement of citizens in shaping the future of the nation. With each phase of the Lok Sabha elections, the democratic fabric of India continues to evolve, reflecting the aspirations and collective will of its people.



Riya Sen, an experienced editor at Atom News, is passionate about health and politics reporting. Riya Sen commitment to promoting well-being and highlighting political developments adds a valuable dimension to our coverage, ensuring our readers stay informed and engaged in current affairs.