Prime Minister Modi Resigns

In a remarkable change of events, Prime Minister Narendra Modi and his Union Council of Ministers visited President Murmu on June 5 to present their resignations. This step follows the Union Cabinet’s recommendation to dissolve the 17th Lok Sabha. According to Rashtrapati Bhavan, President Murmu has urged that Mr. Modi and his ministers remain in office till a new administration is formed. The Lok Sabha’s current term concludes on June 16.

Unfolding of the Lok Sabha Election Fallout

The development unfolds following the announcement of the election results for all 543 seats by the Election Commission of India earlier today. With the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) falling short of the required majority, the party faces the challenge of forming a coalition government with its allies. The BJP secured a total of 240 seats, failing to reach the majority mark of 272. Consequently, the party has convened a meeting of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) parties in New Delhi today. Despite the BJP’s shortfall, the NDA, when considering the seats won by its allies, has managed to secure a comfortable majority. Meanwhile, none of the members of the Indian National Developmental, Inclusive Alliance (INDIA) bloc crossed the majority mark. The bloc, comprising over 200 seats, is set to convene a meeting to strategize its next steps.

BJP’s Coalition Challenges Post-Election Results

In other election-related news, Maharashtra saw a significant upset for the BJP-led coalition. Deputy Chief Minister and BJP leader Devendra Fadnavis accepted entire responsibility for the coalition’s underperformance, which included only 17 out of 48 Lok Sabha seats in the state. Fadnavis stated that he is willing to step away from his government obligations in order to focus on enhancing the party’s position in next elections.

NDA’s Efforts to Form a Coalition Government

The Maharashtra election results highlight significant gains for the opposition coalition, Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA), comprising Congress, Shiv Sena (UBT), and NCP (Sharad Pawar). The MVA collectively secured 30 seats, showcasing a considerable surge compared to the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. Congress witnessed a noteworthy increase in its seat tally, capturing 13 seats compared to just one in 2019. Shiv Sena (UBT) secured nine seats, while NCP (Sharad Pawar) secured eight seats.

Amidst these developments, world leaders have extended their congratulations to Prime Minister Modi on securing a third term. Additionally, market fluctuations have been observed in the aftermath of the Lok Sabha results, with gradual recoveries noted after initial setbacks.

As the nation navigates through the aftermath of the Lok Sabha elections, stay tuned for further updates and analysis on the evolving political landscape and coalition dynamic.

Read more: Marketing NewsAdvertising News, PR and Finance NewsDigital News



Riya Sen, an experienced editor at Atom News, is passionate about health and politics reporting. Riya Sen commitment to promoting well-being and highlighting political developments adds a valuable dimension to our coverage, ensuring our readers stay informed and engaged in current affairs.