Virat Kohli Dominates the Orange Cap Race

In the ongoing IPL 2024 season, Virat Kohli continues to showcase his batting prowess as he holds the coveted orange cap. Leading the run-scoring charts, Kohli has amassed a total of 203 runs in four games for Royal Challengers Bengaluru. With two half-centuries to his name, Kohli remains a formidable force in the tournament. Following closely behind is Riyan Parag of Rajasthan Royals, who has notched up 181 runs, securing the second spot on the run-scorers’ table. Heinrich Klaasen of Sunrisers Hyderabad occupies the third position with 177 runs, while Shubman Gill of Gujarat Titans and Abhishek Sharma of Sunrisers Hyderabad round up the top five with 164 and 161 runs respectively. Notably, all top four run-getters have recorded highest scores in the 80s, with Gill boasting the highest score of 89 not out against Punjab Kings earlier in the competition.

Abhishek Sharma stands out with an exceptional strike rate of 217.56 after four games, making him the player with the highest strike rate among the top ten batters in the IPL 2024 season.

Orange Cap Contenders: A Glance at the Top Scorers

The list of top scorers in the 2024 IPL season is as follows:

  1. Virat Kohli (RCB) – 203 runs
  2. Riyan Parag (RR) – 181 runs
  3. Heinrich Klaasen (SRH) – 177 runs
  4. Shubman Gill (GT) – 164 runs
  5. Abhishek Sharma (SRH) – 161 runs

Mustafizur Rahman Leads the Bowling Charts

In the battle for the purple cap, Mustafizur Rahman of Chennai Super Kings emerges as the frontrunner. Despite missing his team’s most recent match, Rahman maintains his position as the top wicket-taker in the IPL 2024 season. With seven wickets to his name from three games, Rahman boasts an economy rate of 8.83. Notably, four of his seven wickets came in CSK’s opening game, where they emerged victorious by six wickets.

Following closely behind Rahman is Mohit Sharma of Gujarat Titans, who has also claimed seven wickets but from four games, with an economy rate of 8.18. In third place stands Mayank Yadav of Lucknow Super Giants, a 21-year-old express pace bowler, who has impressed with his pace and accuracy. Yadav has secured six wickets from two games at an impressive economy rate of 5.12. Yuzvendra Chahal of Rajasthan Royals, along with Khaleel Ahmed (Delhi Capitals) and Kagiso Rabada (Punjab Kings), also have six wickets each to their credit.

Additionally, five other fast bowlers have bagged five wickets each, including Andre Russell and Harshit Rana of Kolkata Knight Riders, along with Trent Boult and Nandre Burger of Rajasthan Royals, and Pat Cummins, the captain of Sunrisers Hyderabad.

A Look at the Purple Cap Standings

The purple cap leaderboard for the IPL 2024 season is as follows:

  1. Mustafizur Rahman (CSK) – 7 wickets
  2. Mohit Sharma (GT) – 7 wickets
  3. Mayank Yadav (LSG) – 6 wickets
  4. Yuzvendra Chahal (RR) – 6 wickets
  5. Khaleel Ahmed (DC) – 6 wickets
  6. Kagiso Rabada (PBKS) – 6 wickets

With the race for the orange and purple caps heating up, fans eagerly anticipate the thrilling performances yet to unfold in the IPL 2024 season.

Read more: Marketing NewsAdvertising News, PR and Finance NewsDigital News


Rishi Malhotra, an adept editor at Atom News, specializes in travel and cultural affairs. With a global perspective and a flair for storytelling, Malhotra brings diverse perspectives to our readers, making Atom News a go-to source for enriching travel narratives.