In a significant move, the Odisha government undertook a major reshuffle within its bureaucracy, resulting in the transfer of 41 IAS officers. This decision, outlined in a notification from the General Administration & Pension and Grievances Department on Monday, included the transfer of 17 district collectors.

Reshuffle Aligned with Upcoming Elections

The reshuffling of bureaucratic roles was strategically executed with an eye on the upcoming Lok Sabha polls and assembly elections in the state. Such realignments aim to ensure administrative efficiency and align the bureaucratic structure with the political landscape.

Key Appointments and Changes

  1. Ranjan Kumar Das: The chief administrator of SJTA (Shree Jagannath Temple Administration) has been appointed the new Revenue Divisional Commissioner (Central Division) with an additional charge of Revenue Divisional Commissioner (Southern Division).
  2. Temjenwapang Ao: Former Revenue Divisional Commissioner (Southern Division) has taken on the role of Commissioner-cum-Secretary of the Public Enterprises Department.
  3. New District Collectors: Ten IAS officers from the 2018 and 2019 batches have been appointed as district collectors, while those from the 2020 and 2021 batches have assumed roles as ADMs and sub-collectors.
  4. Samarth Verma: The Collector of Puri has been appointed the Additional Chief Administrator of the SJTA.
  5. Bijay Kumar Das: The Secretary of the State Election Commission will replace Samarth Verma as the new Collector of Puri.
  6. Key Municipal Appointments: Nikhil Pavan Kalyan, the Commissioner of Cuttack Municipal Corporation (CMC), is now the Director of Rural Development. Siddharth Shankar Swain, Collector of Angul, will succeed him as the CMC Commissioner.
  7. Collector Changes: Khurda Collector K Sudarshan Chakravarthy is now the Director of Minor Minerals, while Bolangir’s Collector Chanchal Rana has been appointed the new Collector of Khurda.
  8. Additional Transfers: Koraput Collector Abadaal Akthar has been moved to Angul, and Keerthi Vasan, CDO-cum-EO of Ganjam Zilla Parishad, is now the Koraput Collector.

This strategic bureaucratic reshuffle is anticipated to bring fresh perspectives and expertise to key administrative positions, fostering effective governance in Odisha.

Read more.. Marketing NewsAdvertising News, PR and Finance NewsDigital News.



Riya Sen, an experienced editor at Atom News, is passionate about health and politics reporting. Riya Sen commitment to promoting well-being and highlighting political developments adds a valuable dimension to our coverage, ensuring our readers stay informed and engaged in current affairs.