West Bengal Prepares for Seven-Phase Lok Sabha Elections 2024

West Bengal, a pivotal state in Indian politics, gears up for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections, slated to be held in seven phases from April 19 to June 1. With all eyes on the fierce battle between the ruling Trinamool Congress and the resurgent Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), the electoral landscape in West Bengal is poised for significant shifts.

Seven-Phase Polling Schedule

The electoral process in West Bengal spans across seven phases, each covering a distinct set of constituencies. The dates for polling in each phase are as follows:

Phase 1: April 19

Phase 2: April 26

Phase 3: May 7

Phase 4: May 13

Phase 5: May 20

Phase 6: May 25

Phase 7: June 1

Key Constituencies and Polling Dates

Across the seven phases, various constituencies in West Bengal will exercise their democratic right to vote. Some of the prominent constituencies and their respective polling dates include:

  • Darjeeling, Raiganj, Balurghat – Phase 2
  • Maldaha Uttar, Maldaha Dakshin, Jangipur, Murshidabad – Phase 3
  • Baharampur, Krishnanagar, Ranaghat, Bardhaman Purba, Bardhaman Durgapur, Asansol, Bolpur, Birbhum – Phase 4
  • Bangaon, Barrackpur, Howrah, Uluberia, Sreerampur, Hooghly, Arambag – Phase 5
  • Tamluk, Kanthi, Ghatal, Jhargram, Medinipur, Purulia, Bankura, Bishnupur – Phase 6
  • Dum Dum, Barasat, Basirhat, Jaynagar, Mathurapur, Diamond Harbour, Jadavpur, Kolkata Dakshin, Kolkata Uttar – Phase 7

Significance of West Bengal in the Electoral Landscape

West Bengal holds considerable importance in Indian politics, being the state with the third-highest number of Lok Sabha seats, totaling 42. Its electoral dynamics have witnessed significant shifts in recent years, with the rise of the BJP challenging the dominance of regional parties.

Trinamool Congress vs. Bharatiya Janata Party

The electoral battle in West Bengal primarily revolves around the rivalry between the Trinamool Congress, led by Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, and the BJP, led by Prime Minister Narendra Modi. While Banerjee has maintained a stronghold in the state in previous elections, the BJP’s aggressive campaigning has posed a formidable challenge.

Full List of Constituencies and Candidates

The Lok Sabha constituencies in West Bengal span a diverse range, covering urban and rural areas alike. A comprehensive list of constituencies and the respective candidates from major parties is as follows.

Counting of Votes

The culmination of the electoral process will be marked by the counting of votes on June 4. This crucial phase will determine the outcome of the elections and shape the political landscape of West Bengal for the foreseeable future.

As West Bengal braces itself for the electoral showdown, the stage is set for a fiercely contested battle, with political fortunes hanging in the balance. The outcome of these elections will not only impact the state’s governance but also have broader implications for national politics.

Read more: Marketing NewsAdvertising News, PR and Finance NewsDigital News



Riya Sen, an experienced editor at Atom News, is passionate about health and politics reporting. Riya Sen commitment to promoting well-being and highlighting political developments adds a valuable dimension to our coverage, ensuring our readers stay informed and engaged in current affairs.