Political Shifts in Bihar

Following Nitish Kumar’s transition to the NDA alliance and his subsequent appointment as Chief Minister, the political landscape in Bihar undergoes significant changes. Leaders from the BJP-led NDA have submitted a no-confidence motion against Bihar assembly speaker Awadh Bihari Choudhary, formerly associated with the RJD.

No-Confidence Motion Details

  1. Key Figures Behind the Motion:
    BJP leaders Nand Kishore Yadav and Tarkishore Prasad, along with HAM chief Jitan Ram Manjhi and JD(U)’s Vinay Kumar Choudhary and Ratnesh Sada, among other NDA alliance members, have jointly issued a notice for a no-confidence motion. The primary objective is the removal of Awadh Bihari Choudhary from the position of Assembly Speaker.

Nitish Kumar’s Alliance Shift

  1. Severing Ties with Mahagathbandhan:
    Nitish Kumar’s decision to part ways with the Mahagathbandhan, consisting of RJD and Congress, marks a significant shift in Bihar’s political dynamics. The Chief Minister’s oath-taking for the ninth time under the NDA alliance adds a new dimension to the state’s political scenario.
  2. NDA Majority:
    With the inclusion of Nitish Kumar-led JD(U) in the NDA, the alliance now commands a majority with 128 MLAs, surpassing the required mark. This majority reshapes the balance of power in the Bihar assembly.

Current Assembly Composition

  1. NDA vs. Mahagathbandhan:
    The NDA, comprising JD(U), BJP, and other allies, holds 128 MLAs, securing a six-vote advantage over the Mahagathbandhan. The latter, composed of RJD, Congress, and Left parties, possesses 114 MLAs.
  2. Party-wise Distribution:
    The RJD leads as the single largest party with 79 MLAs, followed by BJP with 78, JD(U) with 45, and Congress with 19. Left parties contribute 16 MLAs, while HAM and AIMIM hold four and one seat(s), respectively. Additionally, there is one independent MLA in the Bihar assembly.

Upcoming Political Dynamics

  1. Impact on Governance:
    Nitish Kumar’s alignment with the NDA alliance is expected to influence the governance dynamics in Bihar. The altered political landscape may prompt further developments and strategic moves from both alliances.
  2. Next Steps:
    The initiation of a no-confidence motion underscores the ongoing political maneuvers, setting the stage for potential shifts and realignments. The unfolding events will determine the future trajectory of Bihar’s political scenario.


Riya Sen, an experienced editor at Atom News, is passionate about health and politics reporting. Riya Sen commitment to promoting well-being and highlighting political developments adds a valuable dimension to our coverage, ensuring our readers stay informed and engaged in current affairs.