As the Lok Sabha elections of 2024 progress towards their final stages, phase 5 is poised to witness a significant electoral showdown across 49 constituencies spanning six states and two union territories. Scheduled for Monday, May 20, 2024, this phase holds immense importance as voters cast their ballots, shaping the political landscape for the upcoming term. Let’s delve into the list of key candidates vying for victory in this crucial phase of the elections.

Rahul Gandhi – Indian National Congress (Rae Bareli, Uttar Pradesh)

A prominent figure in Indian politics, Rahul Gandhi, former president of the Indian National Congress (INC), emerges as a key contender in the Rae Bareli constituency of Uttar Pradesh. With a political career spanning several decades, Rahul Gandhi’s decision to contest from Rae Bareli underscores the significance of this stronghold, previously held by his mother, Sonia Gandhi. This electoral battle holds immense significance for the Congress party and Rahul Gandhi’s political trajectory.

Smriti Irani – Bharatiya Janata Party (Amethi, Uttar Pradesh)

Known for her resilience and political acumen, Smriti Irani, a prominent BJP leader, seeks re-election from the Amethi constituency of Uttar Pradesh. Having previously contested against Rahul Gandhi in the 2019 elections and emerged victorious, Smriti Irani’s candidacy symbolizes the BJP’s commitment to consolidating its electoral gains in this region. The electoral contest in Amethi remains closely watched, reflecting the dynamic political landscape of Uttar Pradesh.

Rajnath Singh – Bharatiya Janata Party (Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh)

A stalwart in Indian politics, Rajnath Singh, incumbent Defence Minister and senior BJP leader, seeks re-election from the Lucknow constituency in Uttar Pradesh. With a track record of electoral victories and significant contributions to national governance, Rajnath Singh’s candidacy reaffirms the BJP’s stronghold in this crucial region. His leadership and experience continue to resonate with voters, making him a formidable candidate in the electoral fray.

Karan Bhushan Singh – Bharatiya Janata Party (Kaiserganj, Uttar Pradesh)

Stepping into the political arena, Karan Bhushan Singh, son of former MP Brij Bhushan Saran Singh, assumes the mantle of BJP candidacy in the Kaiserganj constituency of Uttar Pradesh. Amidst controversy and scrutiny, Karan Bhushan Singh’s candidacy reflects the party’s strategic realignment and commitment to fostering new leadership. As he navigates the electoral landscape, Karan Bhushan Singh’s candidacy underscores the evolving dynamics of regional politics in Uttar Pradesh.

Rohini Acharya – Rashtriya Janata Dal (Saran, Bihar)

In a bid to uphold the political legacy of her family, Rohini Acharya, daughter of RJD supremo Lalu Prasad Yadav, enters the electoral arena as an alliance candidate from the Saran constituency in Bihar. With the weight of familial expectations and the challenge of unseating incumbent BJP MP Rajiv Pratap Rudy, Rohini Acharya’s candidacy symbolizes the resilience and determination of the RJD in Bihar politics. As she seeks to carve her niche in mainstream politics, Rohini Acharya’s candidacy resonates with the aspirations of the electorate in Saran.


As phase 5 of the Lok Sabha elections unfolds, these key candidates embody the diverse political landscape of India, representing different parties and constituencies. Their electoral battles reflect the aspirations, challenges, and dynamics inherent in Indian democracy. As voters cast their ballots, the outcomes of these contests will shape the course of national politics and influence the direction of governance in the years to come.



Aanya Kapoor, a seasoned editor at Atom News, brings a wealth of experience in journalism and a keen eye for compelling stories. With a background in investigative reporting, Aanya Kapoor is dedicated to delivering news that resonates with our diverse readership.